Beware Of Video Players On Untrusted Sites You’ve Clicked Through To From Facebook

I’ve seen the link “Yeahh!! It happens on Live Television!!!” liked by four of my facebook friends today.  I think it’s worth warning people not to click inside of web pages pages on an untrusted site that thas a video player within it.

Here is the example of an offending video post:

Characteristics: usually something tantalizing and sexual.  This one has been particularly bad. Apparently everybody loves a good nip slip, from fundamentalist Christians, to moms, to technology experts.

Once you click to go to the link, the damage hasn’t yet been done.  Usually there will be a video player with a big play button on it.  Clicking on the button usually won’t work, at least at first.

If you click that button, the virus page link will be “Liked” by you and a wall post like the one pictured above will be added to your profile.  All of your friends will potentially be victimized in the same way.

If you’re concerned that you might have clicked one of these “virus videos”, go check your facebook wall for something that you don’t approve of.

If you’ve fallen victim to this, the best thing to do is to hit the grey X in the top right of your wall post to delete it, then click “Report Post / Spam”.

Broomfield, Colorado, United States